The fifth film in our Shakespeare Lives series, Miranda’s Letter, is a tale about mother-daughter relationships, or more often the lack thereof in Shakespeare's work. 

Inspired by 'The Tempest' and filmed on the beautiful South Devon coast, the film stars Raffey Cassidy as Miranda, and Anne-Marie Duff as the mother.

Director Theresa Griffiths shared the following about what inspire her to make 'Miranda's Letter';

There has been much written recently about the lack of women directors. I felt strongly that I wanted to bring something to Shakespeare Lives which, in a small way, tried to address this. A story about motherhood and a young girl’s experience is, of course, not exclusively one for a female director or audience, but it springs from my own experiences.  

I started to think about Shakespeare’s work and the female characters in his plays and then, as a mother myself, I began to think about his portrayal of motherhood. It was then that it struck me – there are a lot of missing mums in Shakespeare’s plays. King Lear’s daughters have no mother within the play, neither does Ophelia and neither does Miranda in The Tempest, one of my favourite plays.  

Not to be there for your child, not to see them grow, must be every parent’s worst nightmare. It is impossible to imagine the anguish it must cause. Of course, a simple Google search turns up pages of just such pain, there for all to witness in blogs and newspaper stories. I simply absorbed this story from what I read and the script just followed. This is where Miranda's Letter began.....

Miranda’s Letter,  the fifth creative film under #ShakespeareLives

British Council

电影“米兰达的信”是永恒的莎士比亚活动制作的第五部电影短片,讲述了母女深情,也是莎士比亚作品中很少涉猎的主题。

电影取材于莎翁作品“暴风雨”, 在美丽的南德文郡海滩拍摄,拉菲·卡西迪在片中饰演米兰达,安-玛莉·杜芙演绎母亲一角。

导演心得

女导演特丽萨·格里菲斯(Theresa Griffiths)分享了她拍摄“米兰达的信”的心得。

近来,评论界多有提及女性导演太少这一现象。(作为女性导演,)之前我强烈地希望为“永恒的莎士比亚”贡献自己的一份力,至少,尝试去面对这一问题。这个关于母女情、关于少女感受的故事,显然,不仅仅是为女性导演或女性观众而拍,也来源于我自己的亲身经历。

我开始回想莎士比亚的戏剧作品及其作品中的女性角色。作为一个母亲,我首先想到的是莎翁对于母亲角色的刻画。我的发现令我十分惊讶——因为莎翁的作品中极为缺乏关于母亲的描写。整部《李尔王》中,李尔王的几个女儿没有母亲;奥菲莉娅(《哈姆雷特》女主角)也没有,《暴风雨》中的米兰达也是,而《暴风雨》还是我最喜欢的戏剧作品之一。

不曾陪伴孩子的左右,未曾见证他们的成长,想必是天下父母最恐怖的梦魇。这种煎熬是难以想象的。当然,通过简单的谷歌搜索能找到太多页关于这种痛苦描写,在博客里,新闻故事里,数不胜数。阅读这些所有,使我沉浸在这样的故事之中,剧本的灵感随之而来。《米兰达的信》就是从这里开始……

Miranda’s Letter,  the fifth creative film under #ShakespeareLives
©

British Council