Inspiring Women is a campaign that aims to expose girls and young women across China to a range of professional roles and career options. Inspiring Women is about breaking down career stereotypes and encouraging young girls and women to raise their aspirations.  We want to inspire the next generation to expand their horizons, realise their ambitions and fulfil their career potential. 

We’re building a network of volunteers – inspirational female professionals who can spare one hour of their time to visit schools and share their stories.  

Raising aspirations

20 years ago, Beijing hosted the Fourth World Conference on Women which resulted in a defining framework for change. The framework envisioned gender equality in all dimensions of life. While much progress has been made, women across the globe still share many challenges in achieving the aspirations expressed at the conference two decades ago. Speaking at the UN recently, President Xi Jinping called for a renewed commitment to promote gender equality. First Lady Peng Liyuan also called for the opportunity for all to receive an education, and highlighted what we can do together to effect real change. This reminds us of some of the remaining challenges that the next generation of women will have to face.

Today, women around the world still earn less than their male counterparts and are under-represented at senior levels in the workplace. 

Prevailing gender stereotypes mean that young women often discount careers which they could excel in. Inspiring Women aims to challenge and break down these prejudices to empower women to flourish. 

Wanted - professional women to share their stories  

We are appealing for female volunteers from all professions and backgrounds to go into schools in China to share the story of their career. From artists to zoologists, CEOs to apprentices, we want to hear from you. Whatever your job, career, or life stage, make a difference and help inspire young women across China. 

Patrons

We are delighted that Yang Lan, one of China’s most successful female entrepreneurs, and HM Ambassador to China Barbara Woodward, the first woman to hold this post, have agreed to become patrons of the Inspiring Women initiative and support its important work in tackling gender stereotyping. 

HM Ambassador Barbara Woodward launched the Inspiring Women campaign in China on 9 September 2015. Inspiring Women is a campaign that exposes girls and young women across China to a range of professional roles and career options. The campaign aims to inspire the next generation to expand their horizons, realise their ambitions and fulfil their career potential. 

External links

在英国最先开展的“未来菁媖”行动(Inspiring Women)旨在帮助全国各地的女孩儿及年轻女性涉足各类专业领域、接触多种职业选择。“未来菁媖”意欲破除职业成见,鼓励女孩子们及年轻女性提升个人愿景。我们希望激励下一代人,开拓视野、实现梦想、发挥职业潜能。

我们正在着手建立一个志愿者组织。该组织由杰出的职业女性组成,她们将每年抽出1小时时间,走访各个学校,分享自己的励志故事。

提升愿景

20年前,第四次世界妇女大会在北京召开,为改善妇女状况奠定了一个基本框架。该框架还制定了实现全面性别平等的宏伟目标。尽管妇女事业已经取得了巨大进展,全球妇女在实现当初设定的愿景的过程中仍面临着诸多共同挑战。习近平主席近期在联合国演讲呼吁开展新一轮推动性别平等的举措,习近平主席夫人彭丽媛则就实现全民教育发出的呼声、号召大家真正携手带来实质性的改变,同时提醒我们关注下一代仍面临诸多挑战。

如今,世界各地的女性仍未能享有与男性平等的薪酬,任职高层的人数也依然偏低。

普遍存在的性别成见意味着,年轻女性通常忽视了她们本可以出色胜任的职业。“未来菁媖”旨在挑战并打破这些成见。

招募职业女性,分享你的故事

我们呼吁各行各业、不同背景的女性志愿者,走进中国的校园,分享你们的故事。从艺术家到动物学家,从CEO到见习生,我们希望聆听你们的经历。无论你担任何种工作、从事何种职业、处于何种人生阶段,请加入我们做出改变,激励中国的年轻女性。

支持者 

我们很荣幸的邀请到著名媒体人、企业家杨澜女士和首位英国驻华女大使吴百纳女士担任“未来菁媖”行动的支持者,共同应对挑战,打破性别偏见。 

英国驻华大使吴百纳(Barbara Woodward)2015年9月9日在中国启动了Inspiring Women活动。Inspiring Women活动旨在让中国的年轻女性有机会面对一系列职业选择,并激励下一代来扩展其视野,实现其抱负和释放其职业潜能。

外部链接