Puck, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Photo by Anneleen Lindsay.
Puck.  ©

Photo by Anneleen Lindsay.


Programmes Time/Cities Introduction

National Theatre Live

January-May 2016

Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Suzhou, Xi'an

2016 sees some of Shakespeare’s best-loved works being shown in China including Othello starring Adrian Lester, King Lear starring Simon Russell Beale, and Hamlet starring Benedict Cumberbatch. On 23 April, special screening events will be held in Beijing and Shanghai, marking the exact day of the 400th anniversary. 

Play Your Part

January-December 2016


Do you have a favourite Shakespeare moment? It could be your most-loved play, a character who resonates with you, a villain you love to hate, a soliloquy that stirs your soul or fond memories of seeing a play in performance or studying it at school. Share it through Play Your Part, our year-long social media campaign. 

Exploring English: Shakespeare

January-December 2016


This new MOOC course recognises Shakespeare’s legacy by looking into his enduring popularity, whilst helping English learners to improve their English language skills. The British Council’s English experts will guide the audiences through the course by placing special emphasis on some of the words and expressions that Shakespeare introduced to the English language.

Royal Shakespeare Company present: ‘King & Country’ Tour

February-March 2016 

Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong 

Artistic Director Gregory Doran’s acclaimed productions of Henry IV Part I, Henry IV Part II and Henry V play at the National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing (18-21 Feb) , the Shanghai Grand Theatre (25-28 Feb) and the Hong Kong Arts Festival (4-13 Mar). The tour is kindly supported by our Global Tour Premier Partner, J.P. Morgan.

Shakespeare Schools Pack 

From March 2016

Available online

Created in partnership with the Royal Shakespeare Company, and available free to download online, the pack encourages teachers and pupils to engage with some of the key issues, themes and ideas in Shakespeare’s plays, and to explore the ways they remain relevant and current in our lives today.

International Women’s Day: Maxine Peake’s Hamlet

8 March 2016


This dialogue informed Maxine Peake’s 2014 interpretation of perhaps Shakespeare’s most famous character, Hamlet. By being cast in a part normally performed by men, Peake challenged stereotypical ideas of gender to create an unusual and bold Hamlet.

Shakespeare SMART Talks


March-April 2016


Led by eminent creative professionals with a real passion for Shakespeare, this series of SMART Talks discuss the impact of the poet and playwright on society, arts and culture world-wide. SMART Talks are interactive lectures that aim to inspire young people and students.

Guildhall School of Music and Drama present: Go Make You Ready

April 2016

Shanghai, Beijing

The Guildhall School of Music and Drama, one of the world’s leading conservatoires and drama schools, present their multi-disciplinary interpretation of Shakespeare’s sonnets. This series of performances is curated by famed British voice coach, author and theatre director, Patsy Rodenburg, and star some of the UK’s best rising talent. 

British Film Institute Shakespeare Season

mid-June 2016



The special BFI curated programme of feature films showing how British cinema has transformed and reimagined Shakespeare’s work. The programme includes the earliest surviving silent Shakespeare, faithful adaptations by British actors and directors who have had made Shakespeare’s work accessible internationally (such as Laurence Olivier); performances by today’s greatest Shakespearean actors, including Ian McKellen (Richard III); experimental and playful reworkings that reinforce Shakespeare’s enduring relevance as source material (Prospero’s Books, Theatre of Blood and Next) and expressions of themes such as diversity, identity and desire (Othello, Romeo and Juliet and The Angelic Conversation). 

Hallé Orchestra present: The Music of Shakespeare


12-17 July 2016 

Beijing (NCPA), Shanghai (Grand Theatre), Wuhan (Qintai Concert Hall)

The Hallé Orchestra, Britain's longest-established professional symphony orchestra, presents a series of concerts based on the music of Shakespeare, with some performances featuring renowned Chinese cellist, Jian Wang.


September 2016



Transform into your favourite Shakespeare character on your mobile! Using the shake function on WeChat, you can unlock a world of great Shakespeare content, dress as your favourite character and win the chance to go to the UK.

Shakespeare’s Globe present: The Merchant of Venice


September 2016

Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou 

Shakespeare’s Globe present their acclaimed production of The Merchant of Venice. Double Olivier and Tony award winner, Jonathan Price, tackles the challenging role of the moneylender Shylock in a reprise of what was his first appearance at Shakespeare’s Globe. 

A co-production between Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre and Gecko

October 2016

Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre

A world premiere inspired by “the dream”, that links Tang Xianzu’s Dream Plays and Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. This is a newly commissioned work, supported by the British Council, for the award-winning and internationally-acclaimed UK physical theatre company Gecko, to work with Shanghai’s most prominent theatre company. 

Royal Shakespeare Company and Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre present: Henry V


November 2016 

Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre

The Royal Shakespeare Company kicks off its major ten-year cultural exchange collaboration with translations of Chinese classics into English and performance-based translations of Shakespeare’s plays into Chinese, starting in the rehearsal room of Henry V. The Company will collaborate with the Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre on a new Chinese production of Henry V based on this pilot translation, premiering in Shanghai in November.

 ‘Shakespeare in Love’ by The English Concert

13-17 December 2016


 The English Concert will perform a Shakespearean programme consisting of England’s best music of the time.

活动

时间、地点

活动介绍

英国国家剧院现场  

2016年
1-5月

北京、上海、广州、苏州、西安

2016年,英国国家剧院现场出品的一些最受欢迎的莎剧将在中国上演,包括《奥赛罗》(阿德里安·莱斯特主演)、《李尔王》(西蒙·拉塞尔·比尔主演)、《哈姆雷特》(本尼迪克特·康伯巴奇主演)。4月23号,在广州、杭州、苏州等地专门举行莎剧特别放映活动,纪念莎士比亚逝世400周年。

Play Your Part

2016年
1-12月

新浪
微博

你是否有最钟爱的莎士比亚瞬间?通过我们举办的“Play Your Part”社交媒体活动与世界分享你的感受。你可以看看包括《唐顿庄园》里的休·博内威利在内的名人们有哪些钟爱的莎翁作品。请用视频、图片或文字在新浪微博上参与#永恒的莎士比亚# #PlayYourPart#,就有机会赢得伦敦往返机票及其他奖品。

探索英语世界:莎士比亚

 

2016年
1-12月

在线

这个新的网上在线公开课程通过探讨莎士比亚经久不衰的流行度展现了莎士比亚在戏剧界的杰出地位。课程将帮助英语学习者提高英语水平。英国文化教育协会的英语专家将在课程中指导学生学习莎士比亚在作品中创造的英语单词和表达。

皇家莎士比亚剧团:“王与国”巡演

2016年
2-3月
 

北京国家大剧院、上海大剧院

格里高利·多兰担任艺术总监的《亨利四世》(上、下)及《亨利五世》将在北京国家大剧院(2月18-21日)、上海大剧院(2月25-28日)和香港艺术节里(4月4日-13日)上演。其全球巡演首映合作方为J.P. Morgan。

中小学莎翁学习专辑

 

2016年
3月
  

在线

莎翁学习专辑是与皇家莎士比亚剧团合力打造的,可供下载,旨在鼓励老师和学生参与莎剧主要议题、主题和理念的探讨,并探索其与当前社会的关联性。

国际妇女节玛辛·佩克版的《哈姆雷特》

2016年
3月8日
  

在线

国际妇女节标志着全世界在性别平等上取得的进步,同时也质疑了女性承受的偏见和不公,这种不平等至今仍存在。这让我们想起2014年玛辛·佩克的表演。她演绎了一个通常由男演员饰演的角色 —— 哈姆雷特,挑战了性别偏见,诠释了不同寻常的大胆的哈姆雷特。为了纪念这个特别的时刻,我们通过在线活动再次欣赏佩克的表演。

莎士比亚智慧课堂 

2016年
3-11月
   

全国巡讲 

这一系列智慧课堂由知名专业人士主讲,他们富有创造力,并对莎士比亚研究充满激情。智慧课堂将探讨莎士比亚作为诗人和剧作家对全球社会、艺术、文化的影响。互动性的演讲旨在给启发年轻人和学生。这些专家都曾在英国接受过教育,通过讲述自己的经历,他们向听众展现教育是如何帮助他们成为该领域的佼佼者。

英国Guildhall音乐喜剧学院:《粉墨登场》

2016年
4月
  

上海 、重庆

英国Guildhall音乐戏剧学院是世界著名的公立音乐和戏剧学院。这系列表演由英国知名音乐导师、作家、戏剧导演帕其·罗登堡指导,从多个专业角度解读莎士比亚的作品,并由英国多位新秀出演。

《麦克白》特别放映

2016年
4月18日

北京

4月18日,作为“永恒的莎士比亚”在中国的活动之一,英国文化教育协会在北京中国电影资料馆举办《麦克白》的特别公众放映。

英国电影协会“莎翁影史”单元

2016年
6月,11月

上海、北京、广州、成都、武汉

“莎翁影史”是英国电影协会推出的特别项目,该项目采用专题片的形式展示英国电影界如何改造并重塑莎士比亚的作品。专题片包括现存的早期莎剧默片,英国演员和导演忠实改编的莎剧(如劳伦斯·奥利弗),也包括当代最杰出的莎剧演员的作品,如茱蒂·丹契主演的《仲夏夜之梦》、伊恩·麦凯伦主演的《理查三世》。专题片还对莎翁作品进行了尝试性的改编,风格诙谐,巩固了莎翁原作作为改编原材料的地位(如《暴风雨》、《血染莎剧场》)。

哈雷管弦乐团:《莎士比亚曲目》

 

2016
712-17 

北京国家大剧院、上海大剧院、武汉琴台音乐厅  

英国历史最悠久的交响乐团哈雷管弦乐团带来莎士比亚相关曲目的系列音乐会,中国著名大提琴家王健也参与其中。音乐会演奏莎翁曲目集合,把莎翁音乐从熟悉的场景中提取出来,重新演绎,呈现振奋人心的表演,令人陶醉且给人惊喜。

 

摇唤莎士比亚

2016年
9月5日-10月16日
   

在线  

 

通过手机变身成你最喜欢的莎剧角色。通过微信的摇一摇功能,你可以走进伟大的莎士比亚的世界,打扮成你最喜欢的莎剧角色,并赢得去往英国的机会。

 

 

莎士比亚环球剧场:《威尼斯商人》

 

2016
9月

北京国家大剧院、上海大剧院、广州 歌剧院、南京保利剧院

莎士比亚环球剧场上演备受好评的作品《威尼斯商人》。奥利佛奖和托尼奖双奖得主乔纳森·普莱斯扮演放贷人夏洛克这个极富挑战性的角色,他在环球剧场的第一次登台亮相就是饰演这个角色。

英国壁虎剧院及上海话剧艺术中心联合出品节目:《惊梦》

2016
10月 7日-23日

 

上海话剧艺术中心 

《惊梦》以梦境为主题,受中国传奇剧作家汤显祖的临川四梦和莎士比亚的《仲夏夜之梦》启发。这台新作品受英国文化协教育会支持,由英国形体剧场公司壁虎剧团和上海话剧艺术中心合力打造,全球首映。

皇家莎士比亚剧团及上海话剧艺术中心:《亨利五世》

 

2016
11月 

上海话剧艺术中心 

《亨利五世》中文版于上海话剧艺术中心首映。皇家莎士比亚剧团的长期项目计划把莎翁所有作品译成中文,而《亨利五世》正是项目的第一部译作。

英国古乐团:‘Shakespeare in Love’曲目

2016年12月13-17日

北京国家大剧院、上海大剧院、武汉琴台音乐厅  

英国古乐团来华带来英国莎士比亚时代最好听的音乐,包括后莎士比亚时期的英国作曲家亨利·普赛尔、巴洛克时代作曲大师亨德尔谱写的和莎翁作品相关的音乐。