Pre-workshop of the 3rd International Conference on Language Testing and Assessment and the 5th British Council New Directions in Language Assessment Conference


Topic 1: Designing and evaluating listening assessment tasks: Principles and practice

Date: 1 December 2017

Venue: Shanghai Jiaotong University (Xuhui campus) 

Topic 1: Designing and evaluating listening assessment tasks: Principles and practice

Luke Harding 
Lancaster University

Jinsong (Jason) Fan
Fudan University

This workshop will provide an introduction to the principles and practice of listening assessment, with a focus on task development. The workshop will begin with a discussion of participants' contexts and their current listening assessment practices. Following this, we will discuss the theoretical side of listening assessment design, including important principles in listening assessment, and different definitions of the listening construct found in the research literature. The workshop will then turn to the practical side of task design, covering (1) how to source or create listening texts, (2) which task-types work for listening (and which are more problematic), and (3) what recent research says about common design questions (e.g., whether to play the text once or twice). Participants will then be given the opportunity to work with a set of specifications to develop their own listening task, which will be presented and moderated by other workshop participants. Finally, we will demonstrate with authentic data from a local English listening test how Rasch measurement theory can be utilized to examine the quality of test items and by extension, the validity of a listening test.

Speakers’ Bio-statement

Luke Harding is Senior Lecturer in the Department of Linguistics and English Language at Lancaster University. His research interests are mainly in language assessment. He has published in the areas of listening assessment, pronunciation assessment, language assessment literacy, diagnostic language assessment, and the challenge of English as a Lingua Franca for language assessment. Luke’s work has appeared in Language Testing, Language Assessment Quarterly, Applied Linguistics and Language Teaching. He is the author of a book: Accent and Listening Assessment (2011), and is currently the co-editor of the journal Language Testing.

Dr. Jinsong (Jason) Fan is an Associate Professor and Associate Director of the Language Testing Centre at College of Foreign Languages and Literature, Fudan University, China. He obtained his Ph.D. from a joint program between Shanghai Jiao Tong University and the University of Warwick in 2011. His research interests are language test validation, research methodology, and statistical analysis (e.g., structural equation modeling, Rasch measurement theory).

Dr. Fan has chaired or co-chaired several important research projects in language testing and assessment, including one funded by China’s National Planning Office of Philosophy and Social Science (NPOPSS) to develop a set of professional standards for large-scale English language testing in China. At Fudan University, Dr. Fan and his team are in charge of developing and validating a high-stakes university-based English exit test with an annual test candidature of around 5,000. He currently serves on the nominating committee of the Asian Association for Language Assessment (AALA), and is the co-author of a forthcoming book Ensuring fairness in language assessment: The role of measurement (with Professor Tim McNamara and Dr. Ute Knoch).

Topic 2: Language Assessment Literacy Animated

Topic 2: Language Assessment Literacy Animated

  • Assessing Speaking
  • Assessing Writing 

Gordon Allan
British Council Japan

Assessment literacy is increasingly recognised as a key skill for teachers and others in education throughout the world. These workshops demonstrate an interactive approach to exploring practical issues in assessment, using video, discussion and worked examples to foster understanding of the assessment of speaking and writing. The aim is to help teachers make informed decisions about appropriate assessments for their students.

Speakers’ Bio-statement

Gordon Allan has been working for British Council Japan since 2003, and has extensive experience teaching junior high school and university classes. He now works in teacher training, helping to plan and deliver the Leaders of English Education Project (LEEP), a cascade training programme for teachers of English at elementary, junior high and high school level. Gordon is CELTA and DELTA qualified, and has recently submitted his dissertation for an MA in Language Testing with Lancaster University. 

Please click the link below to see the skeleton agenda of the conference.

第三届语言测试与评价国际研讨会暨第五届英语语言测评“新方向”研讨会的会议日程

会前研讨会之主题一:设计和评估听力测评任务:原理与实践

时间:2017年12月1日

地点:上海交通大学 (徐汇校区) 

主题一:设计和评估听力测评任务:原理与实践

Luke Harding 
兰卡斯特大学

范劲松
复旦大学

本研讨会将重点围绕任务开发,介绍听力评估的原理和实践。 研讨会将以参会者互相的背景介绍及参会者们目前的听力评估实践工作内容来展开。接下来,我们将讨论听力评估设计的理论方面,包括听力评估中的重要原则,以及研究文献中发现的听力结构的不同定义。后面,研讨会将转向任务设计的实践方面,包括(1)如何搜集或创建听力文本,(2)哪些题目类型适合听力(哪些是有疑问的),以及(3)最近关于常见的设计问题的研究(例如,播放听力内容是一次还是两次)。然后,参与者将有机会按照一系列要求来开发自己的听力测试,并由其他参与者进行介绍和主持。最后,我们将用当地英语听力测试的真实数据进行演示,如何利用Rasch测量理论来检验测试项目的质量,并扩展听力测试的有效性。

演讲者介绍

Luke Harding 是英国兰卡斯特大学语言学和英语语言系的高级讲师。 他的研究主要在于语言测评。 他在听力评估,发音评估,语言测评文学,诊断语言测评以及英语和法语作为语言评估的挑战等方面发表文章。 Luke的作品出现在《语言测评》,《语言测评季刊》,《应用语言学和语言教学》等杂志。 他的著作包括:《重音和听力测评》(2011),他目前还是《语言测试》杂志的共同编辑。

范劲松博士是中国复旦大学外国语言文学学院语言考试中心副教授,副主任。 他于2001年毕业于上海交通大学与华威大学的联合项目,获博士学位。他的研究兴趣是语言测试验证,研究方法和统计分析(如结构方程模型,Rasch计量理论)。

范博士主持或共同主持了语言测试与评估中的几项重要研究项目,其中包括一项由全国哲学社会科学规划办公室资助的重大研究项目,制定了一套国内大型英语语言测试标准。 在复旦大学,范博士及其团队负责开发和验证高校大学英语毕业考试,年度考试人数约为5000人。 他目前在亚洲语言评估协会(AALA)提名委员会任职,并且作为合著者,即将出版《确保语言评估公平性:测量的作用》一书(另外两位作者为Tim McNamara教授和Ute Knoch博士)。

会前研讨会之主题二:语言测评素养

主题二:语言测评素养

  • 口语测评
  • 写作测评

Gordon Allan
英国文化教育协会 日本

评估素养越来越被认为是全世界教师和其他教育从业人士的关键技能。 这两场研讨会展示了一种互动的方法来探索评估中的实际问题,使用视频,小组讨论和工作实例来促进对口语和写作评估的理解。 目的是帮助教师对学生的评估做出明智的决定。

演讲者介绍

Gordon Allan 自2003年任职于英国文化教育协会日本办公室,拥有丰富的中学与大学的教学经验。他目前负责教师培训,帮助筹划并落实英语教学项目——这是一项针对小学、初中及高中英语老师的培训项目。Gordon拥有CELTA和DELTA证书,他近期向兰卡斯特大学的语言测评专业提交了他的硕士论文。

暂定会议请参考下载文档,详细日程会进一步更新。