Applications for the ELTons Innovation Awards 2021 have now closed. Further announcements of the finalists will be made later in the year.


Now more than ever, it’s important to recognise and celebrate people who have made a lasting and extraordinary impact on teaching and learning.

We invite you to nominate those from across the English language teaching community around the world who inspire you and others, including those who have been working to overcome the challenges of the global Covid-19 pandemic.

Nominations are encouraged from all nationalities, cultural or ethnic backgrounds, genders and first languages, and can include well-known leaders to typically unsung heroes.

We would like to hear who for you has:

  • Made a significant contribution to further English language teaching
  • Helped shape the English language teaching profession or industry
  • Had an impact on a wide audience

Share your nomination online

Nominations can be an individual or individuals (pairs or groups). You can also put forward more than one nomination.

Your nomination will be entered for consideration by the ELTons’ Outstanding Achievement Award judging panel. The winner will be announced at the ELTons Awards’ Ceremony, in London and live online, later this year.

About the British Council’s ELTons Outstanding Achievement Award

Now in their eighteenth year, the British Council ELTons Awards for Innovation in English Language Teaching and Learning find the newest and most original ways to teach and learn English from around the world.

For the last decade, the British Council Outstanding Achievement Award (formerly the Lifetime Achievement Award) has celebrated those who have made a lasting impact on English Language teaching. Nominations come from the community of English language teaching professionals worldwide.

Nominations are put forward to the judging panel who decide the shortlist and vote for the winner.

Past winners:

2011 Brian Abbs and Ingrid Freebairn
2012 Alan Maley
2013 Brita Haycraft
2014 Michael Swan
2015 Henry Widdowson
2016 Catherine Walter
2017 Ron Carter
2018 Tessa Woodward
2019 David Crystal